Will Daugherty, Jessie Wolley-Wilson Join BECU Board

New board members bring expertise in corporate strategy, technology and philanthropy

BECU announced the election of Will Daugherty and Jessie Woolley-Wilson to the credit union's board of directors, as well as the re-election of Desiree Serr, who has served on BECU's board since 1998.  Serr was also elected to serve on the Audit Committee. All these terms will run through BECU's Annual Membership Meeting in the spring of 2020.

“Our nominating committee focuses on maintaining a diversity of skills and backgrounds on our board to thoughtfully lead BECU into the future,” said BECU Board Chairperson, David Yonce. “Will and Jessie are true leaders and pioneers in the Pacific Northwest business community. We are honored that they will represent our members and bring their expertise and leadership to an incredibly strong board of directors.”

Daugherty earned a Bachelor of Arts in politics from Princeton University and a Master of Arts in Political Science from Columbia University, where he taught graduate and undergraduate courses in international relations, military strategy and political economy. He has served as the president and CEO of Pacific Science Center since January 2016. Previously, Daugherty was an entrepreneur in residence at the University of Washington and held executive roles at Amazon, Expedia and AT&T Wireless. Since 1999, Will has served on boards of directors of institutions, such as Special Olympics USA Games, KEXP 90.3 FM, the Olympic Park Institute and the Children's Discovery Museum of San Jose.

Woolley-Wilson holds a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Virginia and an MBA from Harvard Business School. She has served as chair, CEO and president of DreamBox Learning since 2010, a software company that pioneered Intelligent Adaptive Learning that currently serves nearly 2.2 million K-8 students and 80,000 teachers. Prior to joining DreamBox Learning, Woolley-Wilson served as president of Blackboard's K-12 group and president of LeapFrog SchoolHouse, the e-learning division of LeapFrog Enterprises. She has also served in leadership positions at collegeboard.com, the interactive division of the College Board, and at Kaplan, the leading test preparation company in the U.S.   

About the Voting
BECU's board election results were announced at the credit union's Member Summit on Wednesday, April 19. The election was open to all BECU members between Monday, March 13, 2017 and Friday, April 7, 2017 through online, mail-in and phone voting.

Other current BECU board members include: Susan Ehrlich, Denis Farmer, Bill Longbrake, Roger Mauldin, Debra Somberg and Yonce. The 2017 Audit Committee members include Susan Ehrlich (chair), Serr and Jane Repensek.


BECU is a not-for-profit credit union owned by its members. Members receive the benefits of ownership through better rates and fewer fees. With more than 1 million members and over $16 billion in assets, BECU is the largest credit union in Washington and one of the top five financial cooperatives in the country. BECU currently operates more than 45 locations in Washington and two financial centers in South Carolina. For more information, visit www.becu.org.